Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

“Rescuing” Carmen Talk / Gender Sounds

March 21 @ 9:00 am - 10:30 am PDT

Graphic showing multi-colored sound wave and concentric rings

Gender Sounds is an initiative coordinated by the Escola Superior de Musica de Catalunya Department of Cultural and Musical Studies. I’m thrilled to be one of five invited speakers—an international line-up of feminist musicologists—to review rock, jazz, opera, punk and black music representations of female artists and figures against stereotypical notions of gender, sexuality and race. My talk—”Rescuing Carmen from Carmen”—will be presented as an online seminar and everyone is invited to register.

Note: seminar events are scheduled for 6pm Central European Time. This converts to 12noon Eastern Standard Time or 9am Pacific Time (the time shown on this event post).